Tundra Bars & Baking Swap

It has been a while. I’ve had some variation of an illness for the past 3 weeks almost so I’ve been cooking fairly uninspiring food. Until this weekend!

I joined a monthly vegan baking swap. Here’s how it works. Each month we choose a cookbook or a blog to bake from, and everyone signs up for a different recipe to bring. This was the first one I’ve been able to attend, and we were baking from “Lickin’ the Beaters” and “Lickin’ the Beaters 2″ by Siue Moffat. I made Tundra Bars which were full of peanut butter, chocolate, and coconut. These were crazy delicious. Full disclosure, I just snapped a picture of the one I was eating for breakfast.

I ran into an apparently common problem. First timers typically want to try too much of everything & fall into an uncomfortable sugar coma. That definitely happened. Having so many different homemade baked goods that were all definitely vegan was exciting and overwhelming. I’m glad that I met more vegans, because vegans are special and great, and I don’t know nearly enough.

Next week we have our all-school camping trip, and I’m in charge of food. It should be fairly reminiscent of cooking at camp – similar numbers, though different ages and personalities. Plus, the kids will be helping me cook. I’ll bring my camera.

This entry was posted in baking swap, breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tundra Bars & Baking Swap

  1. siue says:

    The secret is to cut everything in very very small pieces! ;) Thanks for baking from my book!

    • Rachel says:

      Absolutely, these were delicious (just ate the last one and it was still good). I also really liked the chocolate ginger cake. I really appreciate you stopping by!

      • siue says:

        Awesome! I haven’t made that cake in a LOOONG time and I love it. You’ve inspired me to make it next week! :D

Leave a Reply

