Adult weekend = people eating fruits and vegetables!

Today is the first full day of adult weekend, which is like a regular camp session where the campers are all — as the name implies — adults. Food during adult weekend is far more complex than during an ordinary session, which will be very exciting to blog about. The downside is that because the food is more difficult, or at least time-consuming, to prepare, I will have much less of a chance to take pictures. Bear with me!

Between second session and now I made some incredibly delicious salt and pepper tofu for lunch one day. I almost took a picture and blogged right then and there, but my camera (and by that I mean my sister’s camera which I have appropriated for blogging purposes) was all the way in Adams, and by the time I would have gotten it the tofu was gone. It was a pretty uncomplicated process — I just covered blocks of tofu with corn starch, salt, and pepper and fried them in half an inch of sesame and olive oil. I can see this happening again in the near future.

During adult weekend, the number of people who wake up before the 7am bell rises dramatically, so we like to have food out for them. Because I love baking, and because we had some sort of gross leftover bananas, I made banana bread. The molasses we have was being reserved for another cause, so rather than trying to adapt my mother’s recipe yet again, I used the recipe in the original Moosewood cookbook, with some slight alterations. The recipe calls for eggs, which I find completely unnecessary in a banana bread recipe because bananas can easily replace eggs.

Banana Bread (adapted from Moosewood):

ingredients:
3/4 cup butter
3/4 cup honey
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract
zest of half an orange
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon (feel free to add slightly more!)
1 cup mashed banana, plus 1 more banana (the last 1 is to replace the egg)
Chocolate chips, optional. I used about 2/3 of a bag to put chocolate in 2 loaves.

0. Preheat the oven to 350.
1. Melt the butter and combine with honey, vanilla, and orange zest.
2. In a separate bowl, combine all remaining ingredients except the banana.
3. Mash the bananas. If you are using egg instead of more banana, use two of them, and combine them with the butter-honey mixture.
4. Stir the dry ingredients and the bananas into the wet mix alternately — dry, banana, dry, banana, dry. Don’t overmix!
5.  If you want to add chocolate chips, do it now!
6. Bake for about 50 minutes. It took mine an hour, but our oven is pretty slow. Makes one loaf.

Sorry this entry is so long, but I also made dinner last night, with Anna. She made this delicious looking risotto with summer squash fresh from Vini’s garden (two squashes she literally picked RIGHT before dinner and gave to us). I made chicken with roasted vegetables, vermouth, rosemary, tarragon, basil, and tons of olive oil. I also made a spinach salad. I don’t have any pictures of it, but I do have a picture of my notes about constructing it.

I ended up deviating slightly from what’s written on the card. My new recipe (scaled back from 16 ounces of spinach to 10 ounces of spinach), inspired by this post:

1. Caramelize a red onion and a half in some olive oil, and toss them in 2T of balsamic vinegar. Add salt and pepper.
2. Candy a cup and a half of walnuts. I just melted brown sugar in a saucepan with some water and then poured in the walnuts. I think I used a little too much water, though. Joy of Cooking says to use equal parts sugar and nuts, and does not say to include any water.
3. Make dressing: combine 6T olive oil, 6T apple cider vinegar, 3T orange juice, 3T sugar, and 1T poppy seeds. Add salt and pepper. (Dressing adapted from this post)
4. Crumble 10 ounces of feta cheese.
5. Combine 10 ounces of spinach with onions, walnuts, cheese, and dressing.

The one I made for myself and Cynthia without cheese was really delicious, as were the roasted vegetables without chicken. The risotto looked incredibly delicious as well. Anna and I are about to cook lunch, so I will possibly be back. Sorry this post was so long!

This entry was posted in banana, breads, breakfast, chicken, cinnamon, fruit, rice, salad, tofu, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

