Pancakes … with a secret.

This morning David and I made pancakes. Don’t tell anyone, but … they were vegan.

I’m not sure if those are the vegan ones … half of our pancakes were ones we made entirely, and half were made from leftover adult weekend gingerbread pancake batter. As you can see, we also made whipped cream, with a sweet hand-crank eggbeater:

And we made blueberry sauce, from a recipe I found here:

I think I followed the recipe pretty exactly, minus the fact that I was using up leftovers so instead of just blueberries I had a mixture of frozen blueberries and a couple leftover blackberries. I also didn’t attempt to blend or strain it at all, and instead left it syrupy and full of entire blueberries. I love it so much. I can’t wait to eat it on leftover pancakes, on oatmeal … oh my goodness. Delicious.

I adapted the recipe for pancakes I found in the May/June Vegetarian Times, with really excellent results.

Vegan Pancakes:

This recipe serves 6.
Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
6 T sugar
2 T baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon (or to taste. I’m personally a huge fan of cinnamon)
2 cups soymilk (I ran out of soymilk and used half soymilk, half water, and it worked fine. I also found that I needed a little bit of additional liquid)

Combine dry ingredients. Mix in soymilk. Fry on a greased griddle or pan. Flip when bubbly.

Beautiful-looking pancakes make me really happy! And just look at that thick, gloopy pancake batter. Here’s my plate … I didn’t wait for it to hit my plate before I started eating it.

I’m about to made a stir fry because (a) stir fry is delicious (b) stir fry uses up random vegetables that we have and (c) I need to have food to eat when there are no vegans in the kitchen next session.

This entry was posted in breakfast, cinnamon, fruit, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

