And Lentil Stew

I’m back! Third session is over, and we’re now training for junior session. Rather than the normal 11-15, for junior session the kids are 8-10. They are adorable but they don’t eat much! What they do eat overlaps very little with my vegan foods, which will be very interesting indeed.

Over intersession, Emily and I made a recipe of our mom’s called Beef and Lentil Stew. At home, when I would eat it without the beef, we would call it “and lentil stew.”

The final product ends up looking quite different from this because the lentils expand and the tomatoes cook down. Of course, rather than focus on my long-abandoned blog and taking a final picture, I made cookies instead. If someone eats leftovers, maybe I will take a picture.

I wish I knew where the recipe is from, but I can’t be sure. 

Beef and Lentil Stew

ingredients: 
1 lb stew beef, cut in 1-inch cubes
2 tbsp flour
salt
pepper
chili powder
vegetable oil
1 cup lentils
1 14.5-ounce can chili or stewed tomatoes 
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 3/4 cup water

1. Coat beef with flour seasoned with salt, pepper, chili powder. Brown it in vegetable oil for about 20 minutes. 
2. Add lentils, tomatoes, soy sauce, water
3. Stir gently
4. Cover
5. Simmer for two hours, until the beef and lentils are tender

To make it vegetarian, I just left out the browned beef and seasoned the stew with salt, pepper, and chili powder. Clever, I know!  

I am back on in the kitchen starting today at lunch (sandwiches). For dinner I made stir fry and crispy tofu, both of which were delicious. There was just not quite enough of it, though. It’s hard for me to estimate quantities for twenty people now (I’m cooking for the staff while we train for junior campers), I can do 1 or I can do 60. I’m managing, though. Look forward to more posts this week.

This entry was posted in lentils, rice, tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

