My very own cinnamon rolls

This is super exciting! I made cinnamon rolls again, and this time:

a) They are vegan! So I ate one.
b) They are my own recipe that I made up. It is strongly based on the Pioneer Woman’s, with some influences from Maia’s crazy one in grams (OK, I guess that’s not that crazy in the UK). But I made it up all the same.

LOOK AT THEM!

There is only one problem … guess which ingredients I forgot to include? The salt AND the baking powder AND the baking soda, oops. I guess now that I am just baking for myself, I’m a little bit more absent-minded. They look just fine, and they taste just fine, but without those ingredients the texture is exactly like pizza dough, which makes sense, because those things are a good part of what differentiates coffee cake/rolls from pizza/ bread. Here’s the actual recipe.

Vegan cinnamon rolls: (makes about 12)

ingredients:
1 packet active dry yeast (about a tablespoon)
1 C soy milk
1/4 C honey
2 C flour
canola oil
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

for filling:
2 T margarine
1/2 C granulated sugar
lots of cinnamon

1) Heat up the soy milk, but then let it cool slightly. It should be warm, not hot when you dissolve the yeast into it.
2) Add the yeast and the honey, and let sit for about 10 minutes. It should look frothy, which means your yeast is ALIVE. That is a good thing.
3) Add flour, and kneed into a ball. Coat the ball with canola oil, cover with a warm, damp cloth, and let rise for 1 hour.
4) While the dough is rising, make the filling! Cream the margarine with the sugar, then add cinnamon until it looks right. I’m sorry, I should have measured. It was probably about a tablespoon, if I had to guess. Set that aside. If you decide to refrigerate it, make sure it thaws a bit before you try to spread it.
5) Once the dough rises, punch it down and add baking powder, baking soda, and salt. I am here to tell you that this is an important step.
6) Now you can form your rolls! Spread some flour on your work surface and roll the dough into a flat rectangular shape. Now spread the filling onto the rectangle. Now roll it up into a spiral and cut it into little inch-thick shapes.
7) At this point I usually put them in the refrigerator and wait until the morning, at which point I bake them at 350 for about 15-20 minutes.

Also, here is a paper mache giraffe that I made at camp. I’m a fan.

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast, cinnamon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

