A whole block of tofu, some nutmeg, and a zucchini

Good morning all. I’m back in Ann Arbor with a wicked cold, eating plum-blackberry crisp.

I make crisp all the time at camp, so I thought it would be a nice breakfast for myself. I had some blackberries that were on sale at Meijer last week, and wanted to make crisp with them and some other fruit. I was torn between plums and apples. In making that decision in your own personal life, it’s important to note that plums are much sourer than apples! I could have used more sugar, probably. Oh well … the cinnamon & nutmeg redeemed it.

I got back from Virginia on Tuesday, so I don’t have a whole lot to blog about. What I did make, however, was fabulous. Tuesday night I started out with an Asian slaw type of situation. I used the dressing to marinade some baked tofu. That was delicious.

Asian slaw with baked tofu: (serves 2)

ingredients:
1/2 block tofu
8oz bean sprouts
6 scallions, with the greens in strips and the whites sliced thinly
1/4 C peanuts
about 20 leaves of green cabbage, shredded
1 red bell pepper, cut into thin strips
2 carrots, shredded
cilantro to taste (I would recommend like 40 sprigs, but that sounds insane. I made half of this for myself, and 20 is way easier to count to)

for the marinade/dressing:
4T soy sauce
2t honey
2t Thai red curry paste
juice of one lime

1. Whisk together the ingredients of the dressing and put in a oven-safe container.
2. Drain the tofu and cut into thicker triangles or rectangles. Insert into marinade and allow to bathe for like three hours.
3. When you’re ready to make dinner , pour the marinade-turned-dressing into a bowl and put the tofu in a 350-degree oven for like 20 minutes.
4. Make sure that the vegetables meant to be shredded are shredded and the vegetables meant to be in strips are in strips, and then put them in the bowl with the dressing. Add the peanuts, cilantro and bean sprouts. Gotta love crunch!
5. Stir. Put it on a plate. Put the tofu on the slaw. Enjoy.

I can’t believe I used to not like tofu. What a crazy person.

Next I made the vegetable pancakes from Moosewood again, but with some changes. Rather than using scallions and a white potato, I used white onion and zucchini. I LOVE zucchini! And rather than try to shape pancakes, I just decided to not, for a far less stressful cooking experience.

Don’t be fooled … it may look like a pancake, but it is not. Mmmm, nutmeg.

The next night I made scrambled tofu. I always use half a block for scrambled tofu, and as you may recall I called for half a block for the slaw, but I actually cut that in half for just myself. So that left me with a quarter block of tofu. Whatever should I do? I decided to scramble it along with the rest, so I didn’t halve the spices like I usually do. Then I put it on a sandwich with some pesto for lunch the next day. Success!

That night for dinner I made sesame noodles. Very simple — just soba noodles in sesame oil and soy sauce with garlic, scallions, and sesame seeds.

Last night, my dear friend DJ came over for dinner. She was sweet enough to bring me vegan oatmeal cookies — you know how much I love oatmeal. I ate them all before I got a chance to snap a picture. Oops. We made polenta! I’m giving you the recipe.

Polenta with Balsamic Caramelized Peppers and Onions: (serves 2)

ingredients:
half a tube of polenta — I would like to take this opportunity to plug Trader Joe’s, because I got polenta there for half the price I usually see. Thanks, TJ’s!
half an onion
half a red pepper
about a cup of mushrooms, sliced
about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar
some oil

1. Slice the polenta into thin rounds, and then cut those in half down the middle, so you have little half-moons of polenta. Put them on a lightly-oiled baking surface and bake for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I cranked the oven up to 450 for the last five minutes.
2. Caramelize the onions! Pour some oil into a pan, and put the onions in. When the oil heats up, turn the heat down to low and cover the pan. It will take about half an hour for them to fully caramelize. So worth it.
3. When the onions have been in for like 15 minutes, add the pepper. Then about 5 minutes later add the mushrooms and the vinegar. Season with salt and pepper.
4. Put the polenta moons on the plates, then the veggies on the polenta. Eat. Then eat cookies & drink coffee.

I hope everyone is enjoying the start of fall. I think it’s glorious.

This entry was posted in breakfast, coffee, fruit, pasta, salad, sandwiches, squash, sweet potatoes, tofu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

