vegan thanksgiving!

I’m back in Ann Arbor after real thanksgiving, but I’m mentally still on break. Blogging will be a nice way for me to continue my denial of being back in reality.

On Wednesday afternoon I got back to Ohio, and then promptly left my house to go pick up David — you all remember David — from the airport. My mom made lentil soup for that dinner but I did not get a picture. The next day was Thanksgiving, the moment I had been waiting for since the very beginning of fall. I made myself the most delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich ever for lunch, with pumpkin butter, blackberry jam, and dark chocolate peanut butter.

The next day I ran out to Target (post the 5am crazy rush) and bought myself some dark chocolate peanut butter. It’s that good. Buy some.

Then I made pie.

I’m not going to give a recipe because I’m still perfecting it. I kind of followed the one on the can of pumpkin puree, but I used the coconut cream from a can of coconut milk rather than sweetened condensed milk, I doubled the cinnamon (of course), I added a tablespoon of molasses, and I figured the pumpkin could replace the eggs if I added in baking soda/powder, as in the applesauce cake recipe. I forgot which one it was so … I just added in half a teaspoon of each. The result was delicious, but it exploded in the oven. This was supposed to be a picture of that, but I ate all the exploded pie, so it just looks kind of normal.

It was kind of soft in the middle, too … I’ll work on it, and perhaps by next year I will have a good recipe.

I’m not going to lie … that pie was pretty tasty, anyway.

I also made cranberry sauce again.

The next day I ate it on my oatmeal, with pecans and pumpkin pie spices.

My dad made a delicious-looking egg sausage potato breakfast for the non-vegan boyfriends present.

I ate LOTS of potatoes.

For breakfast the following day, I sort of made the pumpkin waffles from Vegan With a Vengeance, but not really, because I had accidentally purchased pumpkin pie mix, not pumpkin, and the recipe explicitly states to not use that stuff. They ended up OK anyway.

I need to practice with a waffle iron, though. The waffles didn’t stick at first, and then they started to, resulting in some thin half-waffles that I attempted to glue together with sheer force of will.

Lunch was leftover vegan stuffing and this Israeli couscous, chickpea, green olive, orange salad my dad made for me. I want to blog his recipes but they are difficult to pin down. I couldn’t cook the way he does, however impressive. I like to be a little more exact.

It’s working out for him, because that was incredible. He made dinner, too — black beans and rice with avocado and the salsa verde recipe from Veganomicon. Well, sort of … true to form he did a little bit of improvising. The result was amazing.

I had so much delicious food over the past few days that I do not remember what being hungry feels like. I’ll let you know what reality has been like next Sunday.

This entry was posted in breakfast, chickpeas, cinnamon, fruit, pies, potato, rice, sandwiches, vegan holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

