Stir fry, scones, and soba (this post brought to you by the letter S)

This week was all about spinach. My housemates bought a ton of it for a house dinner, and because I hate wasting food, I took it upon myself to try and use it up. Challenge accepted! Sunday, I put some in my sesame soba noodles, along with mushrooms, tofu, scallions, and of course sesame seeds. Sesame seeds elevate delicious things to the next level, plus they are a good source of calcium.

The other key to the success of those noodles was the addition of sesame oil and soy sauce. Total staples.

The next thing I threw spinach into was a chickpea curry. It wasn’t terribly exciting, but I guess food doesn’t have to be exciting all the time.

In the category of things that did not include spinach, last weekend I made pancakes for the first time in a while. Lately I have been eating oatmeal and oatmeal alone when it comes to breakfast, so I thought I would change it up. Anything with maple syrup on it is delicious.

I also made lots of salads this week. Let me tell you how to make a salad. First, the lettuce can’t be too large. That’s a pet peeve of mine. I’ve been buying the Earthbound Farm spring mix, which is delightful because it has a delicious mix of bite-sized leaves. Second, top the salad with a handful each of walnuts, raisins, and pumpkin seeds. These things are a) good for you b) delicious. Other vegetables are not necessary in a salad. We need some protein up in here! Third, don’t get too fancy with your dressing. I literally shake some salt and pepper on it, pour in a bit of balsamic vinegar, and call it a day. Before I went vegan I was all about the ranch dressing, but I don’t actually miss it at all. Finally, shake it up, and enjoy. I found out the hard way that a fork, and not a spoon, is ideal for eating salads, so make sure that you pack one.

Speaking of vegetables, I made this casserole the other day, based off of this. It was really amazing, but didn’t actually have much protein to speak of, aside from the soymilk and the almonds.

I think next time I do something like that I’ll remix it with the chickpea-broccoli thing I made from Vegan With a Vengeance.

I was planning on making soup a couple times this week, but I never actually did. I have this idea in my head that I don’t like soup, even though I know that I do. I think it’s because I don’t like broth. What was originally supposed to be black bean soup turned into black bean sweet potato burritos, made heartier with the addition of tomato paste.

It turns out I put onion in everything. I’m cool with that. These were really good. The only weird thing was that instead of shredded lettuce, which would have been more appropriate, I threw in some of my spring mix, which made it decidedly less crispy. That was OK though. Not everything in life needs to be crispy.

Next I was planning to make a curried lentil soup, because I love that, but instead I made stir fry, which actually has nothing to do with lentils or curry. I haven’t made stir fry in a long time, which I realized was super sad, because it’s amazing. I didn’t have any peanuts, so I ate it with cashews, which are probably more delicious anyway. I also used up some of the pickled ginger we got ages ago for a housemate dinner because a) cutting actual ginger root is a pain and b) I like to be resourceful.

Finally, I made some raspberry-chocolate scones. I want to make one thing clear — this was not for Valentines day.

I just really wanted some scones. My housemates kept making non-vegan baked goods and I wanted to play, too.

I just used the scone recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance, but with honey not sugar, 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour and one cup of quinoa flour (because that’s the flour that I have), and without really reading the instructions. They turned out delicious, but then again they were made with chocolate chips, so I expected nothing else.

I hope everyone had a good weekend. Spring is on its way — it’s 35 degrees here! That’s warm!

This entry was posted in beans, breakfast, chickpeas, fruit, rice, salad, stir fry, sweet potatoes, Uncategorized, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stir fry, scones, and soba (this post brought to you by the letter S)

  1. hammerhead in your face says:

    i’m in love with this post rachel
    i’d forgotten how to make a salad… now i can’t wait to try again ;)

Leave a Reply

