Actual pictures!

Yes, color has returned to my world. This week I cooked delicious food and then picked up my camera, dusted it off, and took some photographs. Not to be discouraged by the fact that I live in a basement, I sought natural light by taking my food with me outside, and taking its picture there.

This was a delicious quinoa salad with dried cherries, almonds, and scallions. I ate it on top of a bed of spinach, sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper, and nutmeg. Delicious and photogenic! While quinoa is delicious with a variety of different things, I’ve been gravitating towards a combination of fruit, scallion, and nuts.

After that I returned to my delicious mainstay of cauliflower curry, with some delicious adjustments.

Instead of tofu, I went with tempeh, which adds an interesting texture to what could be a white mushy dish. I also used a green bell pepper, because I feel like curries need bell pepper. Cashews, of course, make this dish.

I also made enchiladas again! Even natural light could not save this particular photograph:

But as I hope you can see, I used red beans this time, which was a good call. I liked the way they went with the zucchini (which I will forever put in enchiladas!) because they are kind of sweet and also soft. Kidney beans are a little bit pillowy, I think, a nice contrast to the crispyness of zucchini.

Then I made soba noodles, with scallions and carrots and mushrooms and tofu. Not that exciting, really. But still good.

I really like soy sauce.

I also made banana bread, because there was a brown banana in my kitchen.

That’s how much was left after about an hour. I ate a substantial portion of it with peanut butter, an idea whose time had come!

Finally, I made something delicious with spaghetti squash from Veganomicon.

It is called “mexicana” because it has corn and black beans. It also has jalapenos and chili powder. I was supposed to make salsa, but the stuff in a jar was on sale at the co-op. This was really good; spaghetti squash is so fun to work with and super flavorful.

I am very excited to report that next week I will be writing to you after a visit to New York! I hear that they have delicious vegan pizza there, which I will attempt to photograph without looking like a tourist. Also, happy mothers’ day! Next week my hope is that I will have been able to make breakfast for my mom, who should be in Ann Arbor next weekend. Enjoy your week!

This entry was posted in banana, beans, breakfast, curry, tofu, tomato paste, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

