Greetings from outside

Hello everyone! It’s so nice outside and I love the sun so much that I’m blogging from a towel in my back yard. Ants are crawling on me, but I’m trying to be okay with it.

This week I actually cooked some exciting stuff! This one actually happened last week, but I thought it would be weird to talk mainly about traveling and then add in a normal “I cooked this in my kitchen” item, so here it is now.

This is a delicious tostada with refried beans and sauteed vegetables and salsa and cilantro. Haley left (sad!), taking her toaster oven with her, so I got the tortilla to be crispy by folding it in half and putting it in the regular toaster.

I’ve talked about this a lot, but here is an actual picture of the tempeh pasta I like to make with spinach out of a Veganomicon recipe that originally calls for broccoli rabe.

I like tempeh. Later on I made kind of a meatball sub type of situation with tempeh and tomato sauce on oatmeal bread, because that was what I had to work with.

That was more delicious than it probably sounds. I also made lentil pilaf …

… and baked tofu and mixed greens.

Pretty sure the mixed greens included lettuce, which sautees pretty limply. The tofu was good though. I marinated it overnight and then just threw it in the oven.

As you might be able to detect, I’ve been doing Mexican-ish food a lot lately. Like this corn-bean-jalapeño sautee that I ate with a tortilla.

I really should have made quinoa to go with this, but quinoa takes 30 minutes whereas this whole thing took about 10, so it didn’t seem worth it.

Last night, I made something unexpectedly delicious. I made up a vegan white sauce:

It consisted of soymilk, garlic, olive oil, whole wheat flour, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast. And it was amazing. I used it to make kind of a pasta primavera type of situation, because at long last it is actually spring!

The thing I’m most excited about this week is the two loaves of banana bread I made. I had lots of brown bananas sitting in my kitchen, so I kind of had to.

One is just like last weeks, with molasses. Only this time I put in walnuts instead of chocolate chips. I also followed Moosewood’s recipe and included some coffee, which made it very rich, dark, and moist.

The other one was inspired by a cake I ate at Cynthia’s co-op when I was in Oberlin last week. I made it with carob chips, cashew butter, and honey.

That one was slightly dry. I should have put in some soymilk or coffee or applesauce, because cashew butter is a lot drier than actual butter, which is what I used it to replace. This one did taste delicious, though.

Finally, I am very excited to report that next Sunday I will be taking the blog to West Virginia once again. I’m quite happy about that. See you then.

This entry was posted in banana, beans, breads, breakfast, cinnamon, coffee, fruit, lentils, pasta, sandwiches, tofu, tomato paste, tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

