Penne — lots!

Hello all. This week I went through 1.25 packages of penne. WORTH IT.

First, I made Pumpkin Baked Ziti from Veganomicon. What an excellent idea! And it came out really well, too.

I used tofu ricotta instead of cashew ricotta like I was told to, because I don’t have a food processor, and I wanted to know I was eating protein. I was only vaguely aware of that aspect of this baked ziti [actually penne], however, because I was distracted by the a) caramelized onions! b) bread crumb topping! c) delicious mix of spices!. I will be making this again. Actually, Emily and I have a list of all the pumpkin things we will be making over thanksgiving. Which is in 10 days, by the way.

Then I took a break from Veganomicon and made a recipe that was just from life, not a book. I roasted some green beans:

Delicious as usual. Then I marinated some tofu and baked it with potatoes, red pepper, and onions, the way lots of people do chicken or whatnot. The picture that I have of it is blurry. I just wanted to eat it; it was delicious.

This morning I did not want to eat oatmeal again, as SHOCKING as it may be to hear. Instead, I made biscuits and sausage patties, both from Vegan with a Vengeance. The biscuits were super small — I think I made 7 when I should have made 6 because I was getting confused reading both recipes at once. They were super good though.

The sausage patties were super good, too. I tried to just go to Harris Teeter and buy some vegan sausage links, but it turns out that neither Boca or Morningstar’s normal veggie sausage links are vegan. From the summer I THOUGHT I remembered one was vegan and one wasn’t. Guess not.

I ate this with lemon yogurt, and blueberry jam on the biscuits. I don’t have a picture because it got kind of messy. By messy I mean there were fake sausages IN my yogurt. Not photogenic.

Tonight for dinner I returned to Veganomicon and made Pasta e Fagioli, and ate it with a salad.

The only issue here is mine was a little bitey (like my cat), which was entirely user error. I didn’t have any white wine, and I hate vegetable broth, so I used red wine. Obviously this was a poor choice. This pasta is nowhere near as exciting as the other pastas I’ve made from this section of the cookbook, the pumpkin baked ziti, spinach linguine with cilantro-basil pesto (from last week), and the spicy tempeh with broccoli rabe. That last one is a complete fixture in my life. There is even a picture of it on my facebook with some inside jokes on the comments. So that’s serious.

I have to finish planning for tomorrow. My students are being aggravating, so next week is silence appreciation week. Nobody is moving, or speaking unless I call on them. Go into my brain and come back out and tell me it’s not the only possible thing I can do at this point. I hope you enjoy your silence appreciation week, because I am really looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in beans, breakfast, pasta, potato, salad, tempeh, tofu, tomato paste, tomatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

