Comfort Food

Hello everyone! Just look what I made for myself.

Image

That is a personal vegan Enchanted Broccoli Forest! The EBF is one of the few things like lasagna and cinnamon rolls that I’ve made at camp and genuinely wanted to eat for myself. Why now? This week I’ve been sick so I wanted something something mushy and gooey and wholesome. Plus I had an extra stalk of broccoli.

Veganizing the EBF was surprisingly easy. I used Daiya cheddar, but some fraction of the amount the original recipe calls for because it can be a little overpowering. I drizzled the broccoli with olive oil + lemon juice. I replaced the probably-unnecessary eggs with silken tofu, making this my first experience cooking with silken tofu. I couldn’t taste it much at all, but as I mentioned I’m sick, so maybe my senses are ordinarily more heightened.

The silken tofu trick may usher in a whole new era of casserole-making. I feel like I can make ANY casserole ever created now, and with protein no less.

I should mention that I don’t actually have the Enchanted Broccoli Forest cookbook (though I have plenty of other Moosewoods), so I created this from memory. The main components are the onions and dill, plus the whole forest thing. I recently came into another Amazon fortune because the first year teacher researchers returned to my second block, so I ordered it. Soon, blueberry muffins and little trees that are secretly vegetables will be returning to my kitchen!

This entry was posted in rice, tofu and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

