muffins! I also eat other things

This week I made a lot of the same stuff as last week. I can be pretty boring sometimes. For example, I made that pasta again, with Rotini and tempeh.

This time, I put in some mushrooms. I labeled them three times because of this… even though that only says mushroom twice. Oops. Making this a second time made me realize that I had not followed the directions AT ALL the first time. This time I made more of an attempt. I think that when I make tempeh, I never cook it long enough, an opinion that was reinforced when I went to breakfast with my parents this morning and ordered this absolutely delicious tempeh scramble with black beans at Seva. Their tempeh still had the chewiness that I like it for, but it was really nicely browned and kind of softened. Seva has amazing vegan breakfast items, I have to say.

I also made black bean burgers again, from Veganomicon. These are seriously the most delicious black bean burgers that exist.

Last time I made them I followed the recipe and fried them in a pan, but this time I was baking bread while making them and wanted the oven to be hot so that my dough would rise, so I baked them instead. It still worked, but not quite as well. Incidentally, it turns out that when you are doodling them, vital wheat gluten, cumin, and chili powder all look like dots.

Speaking of round things, I also made pancakes. These were amazingly delicious chocolate chip walnut pancakes that I could not get enough of.

In real life, they did not look a thing like potatoes.

The only new thing I tried out this week was this wild rice thing that I got inspired by Joy the Baker to do. She actually made that a while ago, last summer, and I didn’t put in half the stuff she said to put in. Also, naturally I used plain soy yogurt instead of Greek yogurt.

I liked it, I like wild rice a lot, and it goes amazingly with mushrooms and chick peas. Yogurt vinaigrette is kind of a strange concept, but it was creamy and delicious.

Most excitingly, I made more muffins! I got inspired by this post on Healthy Happy Life, which is generally inspiring.

Her muffins were chocolate citrus muffins, and I actually left out the chocolate and played up the spices, using ginger and cinnamon as recommended, but also cloves and nutmeg. Plus I didn’t have clementines, I had these awkward oranges that my housemate Zach did not want, which worked just fine. I actually loved these muffins lots. Two things. 1) That drawing of a muffin makes me think about this, and 2) here is a list of my favorite muffins that I have ever made:

A. Cherry-Cinnamon Muffins: The regular Moosewood muffins, with flaxseed instead of egg, sweetened with honey, plus double the amount of cinnamon (maybe even more than that) and frozen cherries. These would be really good with chocolate chips, but I don’t remember that I included any.

B. Banana-Chocolate-Quinoa Muffins: These were sweetened with honey, plus chocolate chips, and the egg was replaced with a mashed banana. Using quinoa flour made them slightly nuttier, plus gluten-free.

C. Strawberry-Banana Muffins: Sweetened with molasses, with a mashed banana as egg replacer and chopped frozen strawberries. Supernaturally delicious.

D. Chocolate Raspberry Jam Muffins: Still the regular muffins, but with no egg replacer and sweetened with just raspberry jam. The only way they could have been any better would have been more cocoa powder, because what wouldn’t be better with the addition of more cocoa powder?

E. Orange Spice Muffins: I’m going to give you the recipe because I did make some changes, but keep in mind that I was following very closely the recipe from Kathy (here’s the link again):

2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
½ tsp nutmeg
¼ tsp cloves
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup soy milk
2 Tbsp lemon or lime juice
½ C applesauce
2T canola oil
¾ c honey
½ tsp vanilla
juice of 2 oranges
3 tsp orange zest
one chopped orange, leaving out white parts

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and put liners in your muffin tins.
2. Combine dry ingredients (flour through salt) in a bowl. You can mix as much as you want right now, so get that out of your system.
3. Create kind of a volcano-style hole in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour in the soy milk and lemon or lime juice into the middle so that the soy milk thickens a little bit due to curdling.
4. Add the applesauce, honey, vanilla, and oil but don’t mix yet.
5. Juice the oranges into the bowl, making sure that you do not get any seeds in there – those are not in the ingredients! I used navel oranges, so that wasn’t an issue.
6. Grate about half an orange’s worth of zest into the bowl, using the small holes on your sponge ruiner. You might, but I really don’t like citrus zesters.
7. Next, peel the last orange with your knife so that you cut off all of the white peel parts, and dice the orange finely. Having huge chunks of orange in these muffins isn’t what you are going for here. Once again, if this applies to you, make sure you avoid putting in any seeds.
8. Stir the ingredients together, only until they are all combined, and spoon batter into 12 muffin cups. Bake for between 15 and 20 minutes – I think I gave mine 18 like the original recipe said. Be checking.

I think that’s about it.

This entry was posted in banana, breakfast, chickpeas, cinnamon, pasta, rice, tomato paste and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

