Self-justifying brownies, and embracing tempeh

Losing an hour is so unfair. I needed that hour!

This week I made lots of tempeh. I used to not really like tempeh because of its texture, but now I can hardly imagine life without it. My first use of tempeh was in a sweet and sour stir-fry type of situation with broccoli, soy sauce, and honey.

It was a little strange, actually. I just kind of threw the honey in rather than trying to make any kind of legitimate teriyaki sauce. I’ll keep playing around with it, I guess.

On Thursday night we had a Dems alumni-night taco-potluck party at our house, which meant that on Friday night I had lots of taco shells and salsa to play with. I had half a green pepper, some onion, some tempeh, and some black beans, so I made some tacos for myself.

Black beans are delicious in any way, but particularly with the addition of cumin seed and chili powder. I threw some cumin powder, pepper, and paprika in with the veggies and tempeh. I forgot how delicious taco shells are. Eating corn-based stuff makes me think of the summer.

Friday Haley had a bake sale for Invisible Children, so I had to bake something for it … duh. I made delicious apple-cinnamon muffins.

They were just my regular muffins, but I threw in all the spices of applesauce cake, plus I grated in a Fuji apple and replaced the egg with ground flaxseed. I think I baked them too long, because they were less moist than they should have been, given all that. It seemed like they sold pretty well, because I only ate three of them.

I made a couple of other delicious non-baked items, for instance, a Thai curry.

That jar is curry paste, and that splat is coconut milk. I’ve decided that being a vegan without a food processor is ridiculous, because I cannot make things like cashew cheese or curry paste. I’m not sure what that actual food is on the picture I drew of the carrot, but my guess would be coffee. Or tomato paste.

The most exciting thing this week were these brownies that Rebecca and I made. Just to warn you, they do contain refined sugar — quite a bit, actually — and I was feeling a little bit guilty about that and had to justify eating these to myself. But then I realized that it is OK to eat delicious brownies every once in a while.

We wanted to make crazy brownies with things in them, so we went to the co-op and got some almonds and some of these delicious Belgian chocolate chips. We also got some chocolate almond milk, which is amazing on its own. We kind of sort of followed this recipe, but made plenty of adjustments. Here’s our recipe:

Almond Brownies

ingredients:
1 C whole wheat pastry flour
1 C all purpose flour
3/4 C cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 C chocolate almond milk (you could substitute any type of milk here)
2 C sugar (I was thinking that subbing in molasses would make these richer and darker, not that it was necessary)
1/2 C applesauce
1/2 C olive oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 C chopped almonds (you could substitute a softer nut here, like walnuts)
1/2 C chocolate chips (make sure that they are vegan if you are)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine dry ingredients (flour through cinnamon) in a bowl.
3. Pour in milk, applesauce, oil, and vanilla, and stir.
4. Chop the almonds and fold those in with the chocolate chips.
5. Grease your pan then pour in the batter. Bake for at least 35 minutes — we baked ours for 25 minutes, and they were barely solidified. That did not diminish their deliciousness, but it made them a lot less portable.

I think that’s about it.

This entry was posted in bake sale, beans, cinnamon, curry, potato, tomato paste and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

